• Norwood Forum

Dulwich and West Norwood Constituency set to remain

Following a large number of objections (including our own) to their original proposals, we are pleased to learn that the Boundary Commission for England has ditched its plans to split West Norwood between two Parliamentary constituencies. The Dulwich and West Norwood constituency will remain largely unchanged in the latest published proposals for the country-wide boundary review of parliamentary constituencies. But there is now a further consultation period and we would encourage everyone to write to support the latest proposals (see further below in this article). 

We submitted written objections against the proposals, as set out in our July 2021 article. Thanks to all of you who too sent in representations against splitting our community between two new constituencies. We also trooped over to Merton Civic Centre in March 2022 to make a presentation to the Inspector explaining why splitting West Norwood in two was not a good thing at all and why this would be against key guiding principles for the review.

The maps below sets out the current and recommended boundaries. The only changes to the Dulwich and West Norwood constituency are in Southwark - to move in the Champion Hill ward and move out two other wards to a new Lewisham West and East Dulwich constituency.  

The formal position is the Boundary Commission for England has published its revised proposals and further representations should be made by 5 December 2022. Therefore, please do write in support. You could simply say you support the proposed boundaries and in particular the decison not split West Norwood between two new constituences: 

  • Click here
  • Add your post code
  • Add your comments and complete the other required detials

Otherwise, even at this late stage, there is a danger of further change. The Commission is required to make its final countrywide recommendations by 1 July 2023, and the government will then turn those recommendations into law. It is expected that the new constituencies will be established for the following general election which is due no later than December 2024. There will be two more MPs in London, with the total number of MPs in England remaining at 650.

You can read more here on the Boundary Commission for England website