• Norwood Forum

Proposed new parliamentary constituencies

The Boundary Commission for England has published its latest proposals to redraw the map of Parliamentary Constituencies across England.

Its earlier proposals failed to achieve support, nationally or locally. The latest recommendations are different from the last round but have a similar adverse impact locally: West Norwood is split with the south eastern section being joined with areas of Croydon as far south as Selhurst and the South Norwood Country Park. The northern part (Tulse Hill and parts of West Dulwich) is included in a newly drawn Streatham constituency. The Southwark section of our currrent constituency of Dulwich and West Norwood is joined up with Sydenham. The recommendations are based on the current local council ward boundaries rather than the new boundaries subject to consultation earlier this year and which are due to be finally published on 29 June 2021.

The London-wide map for the proposed new Parliamentary boundaries is here on the Boundary Commission for England (BCE) website. The BCE states:

  • "The number of constituencies in London will increase from 73 to 75
  • By law, every constituency we propose must contain between 69,724 and 77,062 Parliamentary electors (as at 2 March 2020)
  • As far as possible, we try to have regard to local ties, geographic factors, local government boundaries (as they were known at 1 December 2020), existing constituencies, and minimising disruption caused by proposed change
  • We use local government wards as the building blocks for proposed constituencies, but will consider splitting a ward where there is a strong case for doing so that helps us better respect the factors above"

The statutory consultation period is underway and comments are sought by the BCE by no later than 2 August 2021. Comments can be submitted:

We will be considering the proposals and our stance on them with a view to submitting comments. Any immediate views you have will be most welcome; please send to info@norwoodforum.org.